Events data between and within nations for the period 1990-2004. Extracted from Reuters news sources by Gary King & Will Lowe, and coded according from around 200 typologies of events/actions. Exact date of event is recorded

Largescale database especially useful for more historical events data (currently covers 1945-2019). Events data is collected from news reports from the following sources: New York Times, the BBC Monitoring's Summary of World Broadcasts, the Wall Street Journal, and the CIA Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Includes protest events (category 14).

Massive project to comprehensively monitor news media around the world (over 100 languages) and make available very large datasets requiring big data analysis. Current databases are listed here and include:
GDELT 1.0 & GDELT 2.0 event data 1979-
American Television July 2009-
Africa & the Middle East academic literature 1950-2012
Human Rights Knowledge Graph 1960-2014
Historical American Books Archive 1800-2015
Visual Global Knowledge Graph December 2015-

Developed by Lockheed Martin, see https://www.lockheedmartin.com/en-us/capabilities/research-labs/advanced-technology-labs/icews.html
Large-scale recording of events around the world to forecast future potential political crises. iData on Harvard Dataverse contains events data 1995-2023, superseded by POLECAT

Successor project to ICEWS for weekly political events data, currently 2018- (with plans to extend back to 2010)

Potentially useful data set comprising data on destabilising events such as coups, revolutions and political and economic upheaval, derived from global news sources, by the Cline Center, University of Illinois. Coverage is 1945-2005.

Project makes available political violence & protest data for developing countries (from 1997 to present for Africa, more recent for Asia & Middle East). Main categories: Violence against civilians ; Battles ; Remote violence ; Riots & protests ; Strategic developments

The ESS is a respected survey held every 2 years. Survey themes change, but core questions apply to all rounds. For political protest see especially: B16 pressure groups; B18 petitions; B19 demonstrations; B20 boycotts.

Data collected by Jonathan Powell & Clayton Thyne, 1950- onwards. Coup data also available from INSCR and the SPEED database

GLOCON is an EU funded database that records protest event data, including but not limited to demonstrations, rallies, strikes, clashes, and political violence. Data coverage using local sources for India, Brazil, South Africa, Turkey, and Argentina (date coverage varies between countries). Updated annually. Hosted at Koc University, Turkey.

Freely available datasets include:
Forcibly Displaced Populations, 1964-2008 Major Episodes of Political Violence, 1946- Political Instability Task Force (PITF), State Failure Problem Set, 1955-
High Casualty Terrorist Bombings, 1989- Memberships in Conventional Intergovernmental Organisations (CIO), 1952-1997
Political Regime Characteristics and Transitions, 1800- (Polity IV Project)
Coups d'Etat, 1946-
State Fragility Index and Matrix, 1995-

Shares knowledge and resources regarding non-violent campaigns of civil resistance.

NAVCO 1.3 is a global dataset 1900-2019 containing over 600 campaigns. Compiled by Erica Chenoweth (Harvard University) & colleagues. Periodically updated.

Case Western University project offers access to digitized materials that help bring to life the movement’s massive scale, grassroots nature and enduring impact. They include ephemera, leaflets, protest meeting organisation notes from Occupy Wall Street and more

EU funded project, researchers collected protest events data for EU27 +3 countries, 2000-2015.

Longstanding project from the Center for Systemic Peace offering extensive data on regime type & regime changes 1800-
The Polity project has a major advantage for relating changes in institutions to events since it provides dates for all changes, while many alternative data sources offer only annual data.

Compiled by Benjamin Acosta, covers over 500 organisations from 1940-2014, and tracks organization attributes, command structures, alliances with states and non-state actors, adversary attributes, levels of violence, levels of nonviolent demonstration, interaction strategies, with annual tracking of key variables

International collaborative research project exploring 20th century anti-colonial, anti-imperial and related left periodicals of the Global South. Outputs include a directory of key publications, browsable by geography, date, theme, language

SCAD focuses on protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently covers social conflicts from 1990-2017, covering all of Africa, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean

Compilation by Michael Biggs (University of Oxford) of some useful datasets.