Library & Cultural Services: Criminology: Film. Documentary. Audio-Visual

Library Databases

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news and more. Most subject areas are covered, including anthropology, business, counselling & therapy, crime, film, health, history, politics, social & media studies, etc. (including foreign language content)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) offers access to TV & radio broadcasts from a wide range of UK channels, plus very limited coverage of US and Europe. There is an archive back to about 2007 for 9 key UK channels, and a growing number of older broadcasts that have been requested over the years. It's possible to request older broadcasts from the entire BBC archive, and via TRILT. Ask your subject librarian if you are unable to find the programme you are looking for. Note that due to rights issues, BoB can only be accessed by staff and students based in the UK
Kanopy
Kanopy is a film & documentary streaming service, the Library provides access to all content. Browse and search options available, search can be limited by language or subject. You are not required to create an account on the Kanopy website (click "skip" at this stage), though it is required to make clips and build a playlist

Note: the complete BBC Archive of tv and radio broadcasts since 1922 is searchable here - https://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/

Please get in touch with your liaison (subject) librarian if you need a programme or broadcast from the BBC archive that isn't available on Box of Broadcasts (see above)

DVDs

DVDs and Blu-Rays are shelved on floor 5, and are loanable on the same basis as books. You can find DVDs in library search in various ways:

Search by the title or director of the film
Search by keyword video, or by language (e.g. German), or by keyword (e.g. family).
Then apply the following filters:
Availability = Held by Library
Resource type = Videos
Language = select as required

Here is a list of DVDs by language:

Chinese DVDs
French DVDs
German DVDs
Italian DVDs
Japanese DVDs
Portuguese DVDs
Russian DVDs
Spanish DVDs