Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic Studies

The Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic subject guide gives you access to useful library databases and trusted Web resources, relevant for researching many topics in psychoanalysis, analytical psychology and psychosocial studies

Suggesting Books for Purchase

If you discover a book that is not available in the Library, and would be useful for your assignment, dissertation or research, ask the Library to purchase it. We rely on our students and staff to help build up diverse and relevant collections across the social sciences, so please put the details of the book on the book suggestion form - https://library.essex.ac.uk/resreq/purchase 

The majority of books are now available in ebook format and can usually be acquired quite quickly

Classic Works

Books

After looking at reference sources (Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias) to gain an understanding of concepts and terminology, you can research further & extend your knowledge further by using relevant books. All library books, print and electronic, are listed in our online catalogue.

Handbooks can be useful starting points, as they summarise research & the literature on a topic and its subfields. You can search the library catalogue using the keyword "handbook" plus your topic keywords. In the social sciences, the Library subscribes to the Oxford Handbooks Online series.

For 2021/22 the Library has 12 month access to over 1200 ebooks published by Routledge across the subject areas of Counselling, Psychoanalysis, Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy, Jung & Analytical Psychology, and Trauma Studies. A list of these titles is available through the library website, and you can also search by keyword in library search and limit to Library Location:  "Online resource (PPS EBA collection 2021)" . At the end of the period the Library will retain access in perpetuity to the most heavily used titles from this collection.

The Library gratefully acknowledges the continued financial support of the BB Zeitlyn Trust over the years in enabling the purchase of major works in Psychoanalysis and related fields, in addition to generously placing on permanent deposit the BB Zeitlyn Memorial Library - a large collection of books which have been catalogued and made available on open access for all users. The Trust plays an important role in supporting psychoanalysis, training and practice throughout East Anglia.

The Library has a subscription to American Psychiatric Association database Psychiatry Online, which includes the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) as well as other e-book content. The database also gives access to APA journal content, including American Journal of Psychiatry.

Older books are often out of copyright and open access versions may be found on the Web. The Wellcome Institute Library has also digitised many important historic works relevant to psychoanalysis & mental health.

Print books relevant to psychoanalytic studies are scattered throughout the Library, depending on their subject focus,  but many of the most relevant titles may be found at classmarks BF & RC on Floor 2 and on Floor 1 (in the Student Collection of 7-Day Loan books). Use the guides at the end of each row to help you browse, and the classification summary below:

Floor

Letters

Numbers

Subject

2

BF

Psychology. Psychoanalysis (esp. theory)

109

Analysts, biography & criticism (A/Z by surname)

109.F7

   Freud

109.J8

   Jung

173-175

Psychoanalysis

173.A1

   Freud & Jung collected works

315

Subconscious

637.C6

Counselling

721-723

Child psychology  

2

RA

790

Mental health (policy)

2

RC

435-473

Psychiatry. Mental health

451.4-451.5

   By age, ethnicity & other groups

455.2

   Special aspects A/Z, e.g.:

455.2.A84

      Attachment

455.2.E8

      Transcultural aspects

455.2.O23

      Object relations

475-499

Therapy

488

   Group therapy

488.5

   Family therapy

489

   Other therapies A/Z

500-574

Psychoanalysis. Neuroses. Conditions

504-506

   General works

512-528

   Psychoses

530-552

   Neuroses

552

      Specific neuroses A/Z, e.g. PTSD. Trauma RC 552.P67

553

      Specific states or conditions A/Z, e.g. Autism, Narcissism

556-560

   Psychosexual issues & conditions

563-568

   Drug & alcohol issues

569

   Suicide. Personality & behaviour issues & conditions

2

RJ

499-506

Child & adolescent mental health

504-505

   Child analysis & psychotherapy

506

   Specific conditions

4

HQ

769-792

Sociology of children

4 HV 640 Refugees

4

 

700-1416

Child welfare

3004-3008

Sociology of mental health

4 JV 6346 Refugees & Migration

 

Most books particularly relevant to your studies will be recommended on the reading lists for your course modules, but the following are some biographies and general introductory titles (all available electronically) which make useful background reading.   

Publishers

A wide range of academic presses publish in psychoanalysis and related fields. Probably the major publisher is Routledge and you can search their titles in psychoanalysis, Jungian psychology, counselling, trauma, psychotherapy, etc.

Psychoanalysis also has a number of specialist publishers. These may offer popular titles, academic books, or a mixture. Some of the best known include:

Analytical Psychology Press newish & very small US Jungian publisher

Chiron Publications well-established US-based Jungian publisher associated with Murray Stein among others

Confer Books (including the well known Karnac imprint, acquired in 2020)

Free Association Books important outlet of long-standing

Phoenix Publishing established 2018, independent publisher of books on mental health from a psychoanalytic perspective
 

If there is a book you need for your research that isn't available in the library catalogue, you can suggest it for purchase using the Purchase Suggestion Form