Library & Cultural Services: Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic Studies: Theses & Dissertations

Theses & Dissertations

If you wish to keep abreast of current scholarship, or simply reassure yourself that no one else has written the PhD thesis you are about to embark upon, you will need to see which dissertations and theses have been completed at other institutions. The options listed below enable you to do this.

Essex PhD theses

Up until September October 2016 these were lodged in the Library and are searchable via our catalogue (search "thesis" + "psychoanalysis" in catalogue tab).

Since October 2016, all Essex doctoral theses have been deposited in the University of Essex Research Repository and are available online (unless embargoed). They are also listed in the library catalogue (search "thesis" + "psychosocial" in catalogue tab)..

ProQuest dissertations and theses
Provides access to two databases:
Proquest Dissertations & Theses : A& I which is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. From 1980 most records contain abstracts. UK doctoral theses included from 1988. From 1997, records contain 24-page previews.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland - which contains the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716; access to bibliographic coverage of theses produced by British and Irish universities; bibliographic listings for content for 1950-1986; abstracts for content since 1986. (Formerly Index to Theses) This database contains abstracts, it is not completely full text
Shibboleth login
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations is a free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs, including those previously available in American Doctoral Dissertations.
EThOS
EThOS aims to provide a 'single point of access' where researchers the world over can access all theses produced by UK Higher Education. The database can be searched by anyone, but individual users need to register to get access to the full text of theses. Many theses are free to download instantly, whilst others will only be available once digitisation has been requested. The hub automatically harvests e-theses from Institutional Repositories and digitises paper theses from participating institutions to offer the single point of access. Many UK institutions support Open Access to their theses, so download of their digital and digitised theses is free to the researcher. A small number of participating institutions may not be able to offer Open Access and in this case the researcher may have to pay for the digitisation. Where a thesis must be digitised before supply, you can expect a short delay. However, you will be informed when the thesis is ready for collection and you can then log on to the system and download it.

Open Access Digitised Dissertations

There are also many portals to open access dissertations. NDLTD maintains a pretty comprehensive & up to date list of national portals around the world: