Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic Studies

The Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic subject guide gives you access to useful library databases and trusted Web resources, relevant for researching many topics in psychoanalysis, analytical psychology and psychosocial studies

Online Journals and Journal Databases

On this page you will find useful links to databases containing articles of relevance to those carrying out research in the field of psychoanalytic studies. PEPWeb contains a full text archive of the back volumes of virtually all of the most important psychoanalytic journals. It is, however, worth noting that many journals on PEPWeb have a three or five year moving wall (embargo on current content) which means that recent articles may only be accessed if the Library has a subscription to the journal in which they appear. Check the online coverage provided for individual journals by doing a title search in the library catalogue.

Please note that a few specialist journals are only available in print format, including these Jungian periodicals:

Harvest by C.G. Jung Club London (classmark: BF 1.H2, 1960-)
Spring : a journal of archetype and culture (classmark: BF 1.S7, 1942-)

There are also some important journals which are available freely as open access journals, including:

Sitegeist : a journal of psychoanalysis and philosophy  a journal with strong connections to the Department of Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic Studies here at Essex.

Also worth considering is the Annual Reviews series of publications, which contains very useful review articles across all areas of the social sciences