Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) is a comprehensive, single location providing integrated access across our international law services, bringing you one step closer to the perfect research solution. Oxford Reports on International Law, the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law, Oxford Historical Treaties, and Oxford International Organizations are ground-breaking online resources working to speed up research and provide easy access to authoritative content, essential for anyone working in international law.

You have access to Lexis International from the Sources tab in Lexis. Lexis International contains ICJ Advisory Opinions, ICJ Judgments, & ICJ Filings.

You have access to Westlaw International Materials from the Westlaw homepage. Westlaw International materials contain contents that are not included in Westlaw UK.

HeinOnline, is the world's largest image-based research collection. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage from the inception of all publications carried, from volume one, number one, issue one onwards, to one or two years prior to the current year. As well as including leading U.S. scholarly law journals, there are also many non-US titles included, such as the Modern Law Review, Cambridge Law Journal, British Yearbook of International Law, Law Quarterly Review, and many more. The collection is growing fast, with countries of publication covering Canada, Australia, New Zealand, UK, Korea, Singapore, South Africa, etc. HeinOnline has approximately 1400 journals and the Legal Journal Library module is image-based (PDF) and fully-searchable, meaning that they provide exact page images and enable the researcher to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy-including all charts, graphs, and photographs.

i-law provides access to the latest news and key legal materials in the area of Maritime & Commercial law. The library subscribes to the complete archives of both the Lloyd's Law Reports and the journal Lloyd's Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly. You will need to create a personal account on i-law to gain access to the University of Essex subscription; you will need to use your University of Essex email address to link your account to the University subscription. If you have registered but still cannot gain access, try using the i-law forgot password service.

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Comprises the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, as well as the newly-launched Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. The two Encyclopedias can be searched and browsed together, or separately by using appropriate filters. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, and updated through-out the year, this major reference work is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law.

Oxford Bibliographies provides guided access to accurate and reliable resources for a variety of topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, articles combine the features of an encyclopedia article with an emphasis on the key literature relevant to the topic. They act as a guide to scholarship on a topic, and references are annotated to help users assess their relevance.

Oxford Handbooks survey the field on a particular topic, so are a good starting point for research at all levels. The library subscribes to 6 packages: criminology; law; linguistics; political science; psychology; sociology