Key textbooks on reading lists previously only available in print, made available in e-format by Kortext for University of Essex as free trial of the platform. Check the Excel spreadsheet for links to the textbooks on the Kortext platform.
Explorers provide university students and academics with access to a wealth of comprehensive, high quality e-textbooks. Each subject package of 175-200 titles -- including textbooks titles by leading authors in the field -- is curated to support typical 3-4 year undergraduate degree programmes. The University of Essex is trialling access to five subject packages: Computer science; History; Literature; Political science; Social work.
Temporary free content from Publishers made available during the Covid 19 outbreak
Drama Online has provided us with a trial for all their content, including:
- Aurora Metro Books
- Playwrights Canada Press
- Critical Studies & Performance Practice Annual Update 2019
- Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection 1
- Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection 2
- Globe on Screen 2
- The Hollow Crown
- The National Theatre Collection
- Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
- Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen
ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers until 31st August 2020. Please see the list of books on the website.
"First, we are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through Dec 31st 2020.
We also have an expanded set of content that is available upon request to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19:
For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost. We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in"
In March, we worked with our publisher partners to offer libraries temporary free access to a set of 38,000 ebooks to support the sudden shift to remote teaching and learning, as well as a lack of access to the physical stacks of books. We've seen high usage, evidence that we helped to fill a gap in access, and a positive response from end users, libraries, and the publishing community that participated.
While this initiative was initially slated to end on June 30, many of our participating publishers have generously agreed to extend access through August 31, 2020. More than 32,000 titles from 48 publishers will be included; download a title list here.