Library & Cultural Services: Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science: Databases

Databases

MathSciNet

MathSciNet

MathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year. Currently, MathSciNet contains more than 3 million items, with live links to nearly 2 million original articles. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews are provided. This network of over 9 million citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences. Unique identification of authors (by their MR Author ID) ensures that researchers may also search for publications by a specific author with confidence that the results will be accurate.

For support with searching MathSciNet view their guidance:

MathSciNet QuickStart Guide
An introductory guide to searching with MathSciNet. This will help you find an article/book, look up an author and journal.
MathSciNet Advanced Guide
An expert guide to searching with MathSciNet from the Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews.

A quick start tutorial from the KTH Royal Institute of Technology Library

Beyond Reviews: Inside MathSciNet (blog)

A blog from the Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews that highlights some of the features of MathSciNet. Posting informative reviews and tips and tricks for navigating MathSciNet.

Web of Science, Scopus and Science Direct

Web of Science
Includes three large, multidisciplinary databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation index (1898 - present), and Science Citation Index (1970 - present). Each database indexes the core journals in its wide general area, including reviews, editorials, letters, etc. They give bibliographic details of articles, and 670% of SCI and SSCI references include abstracts (AHCI contains very few abstracts), but do not contain the full text of journal articles.
Shibboleth login

How to search Web of Science
A quick guide to help you get started using the Web of Science Core Collection
How to search for authors

SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.;
Institutional login

Quick reference guide
For a quick overview of all Scopus features and where to find them.

While some databases are actual collections of online content, others are indexes of articles or other materials. Databases such as Scopus and Web of Science contain citations to the material. Index/citation databases help you discover and identify useful articles for your topic.

Introduction to using Scopus for your literature search webinar

These interactive tutorials will help you get the best out of Scopus:

Searching for documents tutorial / tutorial text only
Reviewing search results tutorial / tutorial text only
Reviewing documents tutorial / tutorial text only
Searching for authors tutorial / tutorial text only

ScienceDirect
A Web database for academic research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also includes e-books (the Library has purchased access to the Handbooks in Economics series).
Institutional login

Getting started with Science Direct FAQ