Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences

Help with searching databases

Take a look at these guides to help you get to grips with each database and it's search features.

Visit the SPORTDiscus help pages for complete support.

Visit the PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES help pages for complete support.

The following guidance from PubMed will show you how to:

  • search PubMed
  • search by author
  • search by journal name
  • how to find a specific citation
  • how to focus your search
  • how to expand your search

Visit the MEDLINE help pages for complete support.

Visit the CINAHL help pages for complete support.

Visit the PEDro help pages for complete support.

The following guide will show you how to:

  • Navigate the Cochrane Library
  • Carry out advanced searches
  • Filter your search results
  • Save and re-run your searches

This guidance from NICE will show you how to:

  • search NICE Evidence search
  • Review your results
  • Refine your results
  • Share and download your results

Visit the Trip help pages for complete support.

Bibliographic databases

While some databases are actual collections of online content, others are indexes of articles or other materials. Databases such as Scopus and Web of Science contain citations to the material. Index/citation databases help you discover and identify useful articles for your topic.

Useful resources for following citations / finding related articles