Library & Cultural Services: Computer Science and Electronic Engineering: COVID-19 Research

Managers' Guidance - Scientific Papers/References

COVID-19 - Managers' Guidance - Scientific Papers/References

COVID-19 resources

A selection of research resources and information on the outbreak of COVID-19 (Coronavirus) from credible and reliable resources.

Coronavirus research database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the worlds leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Alternative login via Shibboleth

Publisher collections

Coronavirus (Covid-2019) publisher resource hubs
Links to publisher’s resource hubs and freely available articles.
SpringerNature COVID-19
Free to access articles, additional commentary and relevant books.
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Find the latest early-stage and peer-reviewed research on COVID-19 from journals including The Lancet and Cell Press.
Taylor & Francis COVID-19 microsite
This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19
Wiley Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content
Find freely available relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in major references.
OUP Coronavirus resources
With the recent coronavirus situation, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to researchers.
Cambridge Coronavirus Free Access Collection
OVID COVID-19 tools and resources
Includes access to GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network.
Clarivate Analytics Coronavirus resources
Access the world’s leading research and late-breaking news on this rapidly evolving health emergency.
CNKI.net OA COVID-19 research
English version of CNKI OA platform for all literature published regarding COVID-19. It divides the research results of COVID-19 into 6 stages: Pathogeny, Prevention, Diagnosis, Treatment, Prognosis and Nursing.
The New England Journal of Medicine
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
The Royal Society Publishing COVID-19 research
Free access to COVID-19 research from The Royal Society. Collection will be updated as more research is published.
The Lancet Coronavirus Resource Centre.
This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All of our COVID-19 content is free to access.
The BMJ
This page collects all BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak from across the BMJ's journals and learning resources. All articles and resources are freely available.

Curated literature

WHO Database of publications on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
Searchable and downloadable (.csv, Mendeley/EndNote) database updated daily from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searches of the table of contents of relevant journals, and the addition of other relevant scientific articles. The entries in the database may not be exhaustive and new research will be added regularly.
WHO Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) Pandemic resource centre
LitCovid from PubMed
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
IEEE Xplore COVID-19 related research
IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore digital library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it.
Dimensions COVID-19 publications, data sets, clinical trials - updated daily
Links to file (Google Sheet & csv) containing all relevant publications, datasets and clinical trials from Dimensions that are related to COVID-19. Updated daily.
Semantic Scholar feed COVID-19
An AI-powered research feed to help you stay up to date with the latest scientific research on COVIDー19.
Cochrane Library: Coronavirus (COVID-19): Infection Control and Prevention Measures
This Special Collection is one of two collections on COVID-19, and it focuses on infection control and prevention measures. See also the companion Special Collection.
Public Health England
The PHE Knowledge and Library Services Team (KLS) has produced this page to help those, working on the current coronavirus outbreak, embed evidence-informed decision-making in their daily practice.
F1000 Research Gateway - Disease Outbreaks
This gateway aggregates all research outputs published on F1000Research related to global disease outbreaks. Includes preprints, to ensure immediate access to the latest research developments. the research outputs that can be published here are not restricted to original research articles. The gateway accepts research outputs in non peer-reviewed formats such as documents, posters and slides.
Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) web archive
AIm: To preserve web content related to the ongoing Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak. The collection will continue to add new content as needed during the course of the outbreak and its containment. High priority subtopics include: coronavirus origins; information about the spread of infection; regional or local containment efforts; medical'scientific aspects; social aspects; economic aspects; and political aspects.

Filtered (pre-run searches)

COVID-19 search query from Dimensions
All relevant research publications about the 2019 novel coronavirus and the disease it causes, COVID-19. Find related published articles, preprints, datasets and clinical trials. Search query:
PUBLICATION YEAR: 2020; FULL DATA SEARCH: "2019-nCoV" OR "COVID-19" OR “SARS-CoV-2” OR (("coronavirus" OR "corona virus") AND (Wuhan OR China))
NICE Evidence Search: COVID-19
NICE Evidence search finds selected, authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
COVID-19 Live Literature Searches
PubMed search for all COVID-19 literature, in addition to filtered searches on prevention, diagnosis, management, health services, and more. From the Australian Library and Information Association.
COVID-19 search strategies - Health Education England
Health Education England is facilitating the sharing of searches and search strategies related to COVID-19 which have been undertaken by NHS funded librarians and knowledge specialists on behalf of the local health and care workforce in England.
COVID-19 Literature Searches (provided by Medical Library Association (MLA), USA)
This is a list of literature searches curated by an MLA librarian from crowd-sourced suggestions by MLA members and other health information professionals. It provides suggested search strategies for COVID-19 and has an emphasis on searches related to special populations and COVID-19.
PubMed
(coronavirus [MeSH]) OR ("coronavirus infections"[MeSH Terms]) OR (coronavirus [All Fields]) OR ("covid 2019") OR ("SARS2") OR ("SARS-CoV-2") OR ("SARS-CoV-19") OR ("severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2" [supplementary concept]) OR (coronavirus infection) OR ("severe acute respiratory" pneumonia outbreak) OR ("novel cov") OR (2019ncov) OR (sars cov2) OR (cov2) OR (ncov) OR (covid-19) OR (covid19) OR (coronaviridae) OR ("corona virus")

SCOPUS
Institutional login

TITLE-ABS-KEY(coronavirus OR "Middle East respiratory syndrome" OR "Severe acute respiratory syndrome" OR "Porcine epidemic diarrhea virus" OR "Feline infectious peritonitis virus" OR "Murine hepatitis virus" OR "Avian infectious bronchitis virus") AND RECENT(60)

Cochrane library

Search for coronavirus in the Title Abstract Keyword fields and click on the Clinical Trials tab to view registered trials if there are no relevant systematic reviews published yet.

Preprints

COVID-19 Portfolio Tool
An NIH tool to search, analyse and visualise COVID-19 Literature. All data is downloadable as a CSV or Excel file and includes direct links to the publications and preprints
Europe PMC.
Search worldwide, life-sciences literature
BioRxiv
The preprint server for biology
MedRxiv
The preprint servier for Health Sciences
SSRN
(Social Science Research Network) Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page provides a curated view into the early-stage research
arXiv
articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv

Data and Statistics

COVID-19 Dashboard by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University
Number of people confirmed to have COVID-19 and number of people who already recovered. This map gets updated multiple times each day with data by Johns Hopkins.
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) Situation Dashboard
This interactive dashboard/map provides the latest global numbers and numbers by country of COVID-19 cases on a daily basis.
Public Health England Total UK COVID-19 Cases Update
Presents UK cumulative/daily and cases/deaths totals.
COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)
Full-text and metadata dataset of COVID-19 and coronavirus-related research articles, optimized for machine readability.
European COVID-19 Data Platform (Provided by European Commission and partners)
Includes the COVID-19 Data Portal and SARS-CoV-2 Data Hubs
ClinicalTrials.gov - COVID-19 Studies
Statista - COVID-19 Facts & Figures
Numerous dossiers, on countries specific, economic impact for industries specific, Infographics and lots more data to come as this situation progresses.
Coronavirus tracked: the latest figures as the pandemic spreads (provided by the Financial Times)
Provides regularly updated statistics on the spread of the virus, including visualisations showing the overlapped number of COVID-19 cases in various countries based on the day when each country had the their 100th person infected and number of days since 10th death.
Epidemiological data from the COVID-19 outbreak, real-time case information
ive individual-level data from national, provincial, and municipal health reports, as well as additional information from online reports. All data are geo-coded and, where available, include symptoms, key dates (date of onset, admission, and confirmation), and travel history. For access details see the Open Access Nature article (March 2020) at: https://doi.org/10.1038/s41597-020-0448-0
COVID-19 Research Export File (provided by Dimensions)
Dimensions have created a spreadsheet of all their relevant research publications about the 2019 novel coronavirus and the disease it causes, COVID-19. The spreadsheet contains publications, datasets and clinical trials. Dimensions is updated once every 24 hours, so the latest research can be viewed alongside existing information. It brings together research outputs with datasets and clinical trials, both of which are just as vital as journal articles.
COVID-19 Educational Disruption and Response
UNESCO monitoring of school closures worldwide due to the virus.