Skip to main content

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) - Library Updates

The latest news on how COVID-19 (Coronavirus) is affecting Library Services.

Free content from Publishers

SEE ALSO: Spreadsheet maintained by Libraries around the world covering publisher free content offers and research on COVID 19 that has been opened up.

American Mathematical Society

Transitioning to online teaching guide

AMS Open Math Notes - a repository of freely downloadable mathematical works in progress hosted by the American Mathematical Society as a service to researchers, teachers and students. These draft works include course notes, textbooks, and research expositions in progress. They have not been published elsewhere, and, as works in progress, are subject to significant revision. Visitors are encouraged to download and use these materials as teaching and research aids, and to send constructive comments and suggestions to the authors.

Annual Reviews

To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, we have made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30th 2020.

Bergahn Books

Unlimited User access for Library Ebooks
Berghahn Books supports its key library partners, ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gardners in granting students unlimited access to their library’s eBooks holdings for a 90-day period. Another important library partner for us, JSTOR, has always offered unlimited user access so you can find a wide selection of our titles going back many years there too. As an early advocate of unlimited-user eBooks, we are proud to contribute to such initiatives especially as a great way to enable broad student access now and in the future. If your library does not hold the book you need, you can recommend it here: Visit our eBooks page for details.
Free and extended digital exam copies
For deciding on books for your current or upcoming semester’s class, we provide free digital inspection copies and have also extended the standard review period to 90 days. Sign up for free e-inspection copies here.
Free individual ebooks for individual use
For your remote research needs, we are offering free eBooks for individual users directly through our website until April 30 (for course use, please refer to the above library ebook options). Use discount code REMOTE20.
Open access ebooks and journals
As courses transition to online, we are offering a growing number of Open Access texts (many offered in both ePub and .pdf format) available for direct download from our website. View the complete list of OA ebooks on the Bergahn website
For open access journals, visit our journals site to access a number of OA articles as well as to learn about our Berghahn Open Anthro pilot, which makes all 2020 issues of this select anthropology collection available in open access thanks to the Subscribe-to-open model.
Free access to all Berghahn Journals
In addition to those BOA journals available open access, all Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues - will be made freely available through June 30. View the journals list on Bergahn website.

Bloomsbury Publishing

Bloomsbury Collections

Bloomsbury Collections offers excellence and originality in scholarship in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Discover our ever expanding eBook library that offers more than 8000 titles across 22 subject areas.

Bloomsbury Cultural History  

Bloomsbury Cultural History is an authoritative, peer-reviewed resource showing how people lived their everyday lives throughout history. It provides students and researchers with access to Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series, a set of curated, comprehensive, and illustrated reference works, in addition to extensive eBook, and image collections

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies    

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies provides systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies worldwide. Using highly structured and original content, users can easily study and compare countries through six key sections: early childhood, childhood, youth, primary education, secondary education, and higher education. Combined with existing eBooks, articles, and helpful research tools, students can study and build an understanding of education systems, policies, and the nature of childhood and youth experience in different countries throughout the world.

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies   

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies combines high-quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and curated pedagogical resources in a one-stop digital resource which will support students and scholars across this rich field of study.

Churchill Archive    

The Churchill Archive is designed to support teaching, study, and research, providing an invaluable resource for a wide range of courses. It comprises  800,000 pages of original documents that range from Churchill’s personal correspondence to exchanges between the great leaders of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Human Kinetics Library   

The Human Kinetics Library combines Bloomsbury’s digital excellence with Human Kinetics’ market-leading sports and physical activity content, featuring over 150 exclusive ebooks and a selection of videos

Screen Studies

Comprising a diverse range of exceptional book and screenplay content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber, Screen Studies is a dynamic and expanding platform. It supports academics and students engaged with studies of film history, theory and practice; as well as other moving image disciplines.

BOB

"BoB is now accessible for all of your students in the EU - from today.

We realise what an extremely difficult time this is for our members and we would like to provide as much support as possible. We will be opening up our 'BoB Roaming' service for all universities using BoB for no extra cost, until the end of July. Please note that due to licencing restrictions BoB is not currently available outside of the EU."

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic is essential for college and university students, researchers, and faculty conducting research at home. As the world’s leading general reference database, Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights. Continuity of study for your students is something we know is critical and our team is here to help you get set up with free access. N.B Contacted. We will update this when content becomes available.

Cambridge University Press

Trial access until end of May 2020

Cambridge histories -- https://0-www-cambridge-org.serlib0.essex.ac.uk/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

Cambridge companions -- https://0-www-cambridge-org.serlib0.essex.ac.uk/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-companions

Cambridge elements -- https://0-www-cambridge-org.serlib0.essex.ac.uk/core/what-we-publish/elements

Cambridge textbooks -- https://0-www-cambridge-org.serlib0.essex.ac.uk/core/what-we-publish/textbooks

We are offering free, online access to higher education textbooks and coronavirus research during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Cengage/Gale

Additional Teaching Resources:

  • Novels for Students (eBook series) provides overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. It includes discussions around the plot, characters, themes and structure, as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.

Accurate Health Information:

Note: You may be prompted to enter with a password. The password for all is "open"

Directory of Open Access Books

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals. Today, the independent database contains ca. 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Drama Online Trial
Drama Online has provided us with a trial for all their content.

Including:

  • Aurora Metro Books
  • Playwrights Canada Press  
  • Critical Studies & Performance Practice Annual Update 2019
  • Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection 1  
  • Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection 2
  • Globe on Screen 2  
  • The Hollow Crown
  • The National Theatre Collection  
  • Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
  • Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen

Duke University Press

As courses transition to online, we can provide 90 days of complimentary electronic access to course materials. Contact orders@dukeupress.edu

EBSCO E-books

In addition, EBSCO eBooks™ is partnering with publishers to waive simultaneous user limits wherever possible, ensuring unlimited access to e-books by:

  • Upgrading existing EBSCO eBooks holdings to Unlimited-User access until June 30 for a growing list of publishers.* This upgrade went live on Monday, March 16.
  • Discounting Unlimited-User access at One-User pricing for new e-book acquisitions.

EBSCO E-Books Academic Complete

Academic eBook Subscription Collection available for libraries to access on EBSCOhost for a period of 3 months. These have been added to Library search and are accessible from the link above.

EBSCO Harvard Business Review E-Book

We have contacted EBSCO for access to this, the offer is available until May 30, 2020.

EBSCO Faculty Select

"Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more."

Edward Elgar

FREE CHAPTERS AVAILABLE FOR THE FOLLOWING TITLES:

Click preview each free chapter as a green circle, denoting free access.

Elsevier/ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18).

Find My Past

Get login for access

Off-campus access trial from Period of trial: 18/03/2020 - 01/04/2020. UK-based online genealogy service containing over 4 billion records including: the largest online collections of Irish records and UK parish records, and the most comprehensive archive of British military records online. Also contains: a collection of British newspapers dating from 1710 to 1955.

IEEE

In light of recent global events and the shutdown of Universities, customers impacted by COVID-19 will get access to IEEE  suite of 400 + eLearning courses through to the end of June to help support students and faculty members teaching engineering and computer science.

IEEE Courses are hosted on IEEE Xplore  full list of courses available can be downloaded there. 

N.B Contacted. We will update this when content becomes available.

Intersentia

We have made our journal, the International Journal on Procedural Law (IJPL) available at no cost on Jurisquare – simply register for free.

JoVE Videos
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Watch our scientific video articles. JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th.

Choose to login using 'Shibboleth'

Science Education: 11 Education Collections - https://www.jove.com/science-education-library

JSTOR

First, we are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020.

We also have an expanded set of content that is available upon request to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19:

  • For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost.
  • We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.

Further details about this program, including information on how to request expanded access, can be found at on the JSTOR website

Kanopy

With the support of select content partners like First Run Features, Samuel Goldwyn, Collective Eye Films, FilmRise, Films We Like, Media Education Foundation and NYX and more, Kanopy has put together a collection of (15 films, to start) that your campus can watch at no cost for the next 30 days (through April 12). PDF with links to the Films

Karger

Karger is making all published Coronavirus / COVID-19 articles freely available until the end of 2020, in order to support current research initiatives and community health. To make them easy to find, they have been grouped in a “Coronavirus Topic Article Package”.

Kortext (& JISC)
"Free Student eTextbook Programme (FSTP)
With the unprecedented impact on Higher Education from the Coronavirus outbreak, Kortext, the UK’s leading digital textbook platform, in conjunction with Jisc, the UK’s not for profit education and research services provider, are launching a nationwide programme to ensure all 2.4m university students and 217k academic staff have free access to their key learning resources during this crucial revision and exam period (the “Free Student eTextbook Programme” or “FSTP”)". The library is working closely with Kortext to make core/essential reading available online.

Law Trove (Oxford University Press)

Trial access until 31st May 2020.

Law Trove contains the content of about 200 law textbooks across core and optional modules.

Loeb Classics

Accordingly, in the spirit of James Loeb’s original vision “to make the beauty and learning, the philosophy and wit of the great writers of ancient Greece and Rome once more accessible” at a time when they are sorely needed, the Trustees of the Loeb Classical Library and Harvard University Press announce that subscriptions to the digital Loeb Classical Library are made free to schools and universities impacted by COVID-19 until June 30, 2020.

Macmillan Learning

If your school is transitioning from in-person to online classes b/c COVID19 we're here for you. Our #edtech tools - LaunchPad, Sapling, FlipIt, iClicker & Lab Sims - are free this semester until July 1 for impacted customers using our print books. Contact your rep for details.

McGraw-Hill Education

Core digital learning platforms, McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS, are available for free to any student and instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term. Core digital learning platforms, McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS, are available for free to any student and instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term

Met OnDemand

The Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.

MIT Press

"The MIT Press is offering libraries complimentary access to its catalog of eBooks on MIT Press Direct through the end of May 2020 to support faculty and students who are working and learning remotely. N.B The library has arranged a free trial of MIT Press Direct through to 31 May 2020

Ohio State University Press

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 703 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

OVID Health Library

The library has arranged trial access (until 26th May 2020) to the following:

  • Advanced Practice Nursing - Health Library
  • Anesthesiology Collection - Health Library
  • Board Review Series Collection - Health Library
  • Clerkship Collection - Health Library
  • Emergency Medicine Collection - Health Library
  • Health Library: ACSM's Certification Suite
  • Health Library: Exercise Science
  • Internal Medicine Perpetual Access 2019 - Health Library
  • Made Incredibly Easy Collection - Health Library
  • ObGyn Collection - Health Library
  • Occupational Therapy Collection - Health Library
  • Oncology Collection - Health Library
  • Orthopedic Surgery Collection - Health Library
  • PA Rotations/Specialties Collection - Health Library
  • PA-Core Education Collection - Health Library
  • Pathology - Health Library
  • Physical Therapy Collection - Health Library
  • Premium Basic Sciences Collection - Health Library
  • Premium Pharmacy Collection - Health Library
  • Psychiatry Collection - Health Library 2019
  • Speech Language Hearing Collection - Health Library
  • Surgery Collection - Health Library

Click on the link above and choose to sign in via Shibboleth.

Please go to Trial Terms to review the specific terms for this trial subscription and view Terms of Use and Copyright Policy.

OVID Visible Body

Free access until 30/06/2020

"We know these are unprecedented times for you and your students—the Visible Body team wants to help. We are offering faculty and students at accredited institutions FREE use of Visible Body Courseware to ensure your curricula and students’ studies stay on track. To obtain access, instructors at accredited institutions must request an instructor code. Students can ONLY get access from their instructor. Students are not eligible for free access by requesting an account directly from Visible Body."

Oxford University Press (see Law Trove)

Paris Art Museum

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Pearson

"Pearson is committed to providing support and continuity to learners and educators around the world, as the whole Higher Education community prepares to move online. We’re giving free access to our core range of HE and English language online courseware to support you at this time."

We’ve developed helpful free resources such as online webinars on remote learning and actionable articles on utilising online communication tools to help you plan, prepare and rise above the challenges of COVID-19.

Project Muse

Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. MUSE expects to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content on the Project Muse website

Project Syndicate

"Your subscription to Project Syndicate can help you make sense of issues, ideas, trends, and events in the news – quickly, reliably, and with the unique resources available to the world’s largest and most experienced provider of original, globally-sourced commentary.
Featuring exclusive contributions by prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from more than
100 countries, Project Syndicate offers unrivaled insight into the topics commanding the world’s attention."

More information and access instructions

Proquest

We have arranged a free trial of the following products from Proquest:

PsycLearn: Research Methods and PsycLearn: Introduction to Social Psychology

PsycLearn is a digital learning resource that uses interactive technology to immerse students in course content.

Sign Up for a Free Educator Trial
Please complete the below form and we will reach out within the next day or two with details on how to access your free 60-day trial of PsycLearn: Research Methods. Trial access is only available to educators. Please use an email address associated with your institution. Instructor status to be verified before trial access is granted.

Sage

As you navigate the transition to online teaching, we wanted to let you know that we’re here to help. We have opened up access to the following complimentary resources to help you manage the move to online as seamlessly as possible:

  • Access to SAGE eTextbooks and learning resources to ensure your students have the content they need for the revision and assessment periods
  • Instant lecturer access to electronic inspection copies so you can review and select books to use in your teaching without delay
  • Use of the wide range of instructor and student online resources accompanying many of our textbooks
  • 90-day access to our digital library products including SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Video, SAGE Business Cases and SAGE Research Methods Video
  • Personal support from your local consultant on any queries you may have
  • Expert insight and advice on moving classes online and supporting your students through the transition to online learning
  • Open access to the latest research on online teaching and COVID-19

Soft Chalk

SoftChalk, the education company that provides the premier online lesson creation and student interaction tool, is offering assistance to academic institutions and organizations to help educators meet the demands created by school closings and the temporary shift to online course delivery during the COVID-19 threat.

SoftChalk is offering free access to SoftChalk Cloud from now through May 31, 2020 to anyone who may need it to quickly and easily create online lessons and course materials for delivery to students.

How To Quickly Get Started With SoftChalk

Open an account with soft chalk. Get started by reviewing our Video Tutorials. (This short introduction to creating an online lesson is a good place to start). Refer to our Quick Start Guide for any additional assistance. Our Support Team is ready to provide assistance as needed.

What Happens After May 31st?

First, you won’t be charged for anything without your explicit permission after this date. You have our word.
We’ll reassess and determine if this deadline should be extended.For our existing customers already using SoftChalk Cloud, please feel free to reach out to us at learnmore@softchalk.com for ways we can continue to support you at this time. Should you have any questions or concerns, please let us know.

Springer Nature

  • Our central resource hub contains links to relevant research from our journals and books, as well as additional commentary on COVID19. Our editors are also selecting pertinent content to highlight. Overall more than 12,000 pieces of journal and book content are free to access, and will continue to be so for as long as needed. Nature and Scientific American have also released podcasts from global experts on the pandemic and its development, and Nature Briefing continues to provide the latest research updates.
  • We are encouraging users to get in touch if they are not able to access an article that they believe to be important in both understanding and addressing this emergency, and we will ensure that this is added to the resource.
  • We continue to work with our authors, editors and researchers to encourage early sharing of research submitted to all our journals through preprints and continue to strongly urge authors submitting articles related to this emergency to share underlying datasets relating to the outbreak as rapidly and widely as possible.

TextBOX

"At this time textBOX would like to make a simple offer of help to the university community – free advice and guidance on image descriptions to support you as you transition to online teaching. If you have a question about writing image descriptions and alt-text, please do get in touch – we’re more than happy to help you.

We hope this helps to support you and your students during this challenging time. This offer extends for the next 3 months until the end of June 2020.

We would also be happy to write articles about image descriptions for specific types of content, for instance, graphs or diagrams or kittens, if this would be of interest. Please let us know if there are particular areas where advice would be welcome and we’ll write some guidelines for the community.

You can also visit our textGALLERY for some image description inspiration. And some nice pictures.

Remember that searchBOX, the accessible publishing directory, is also available for free. searchBOX contains the contact details and accessibility statement links for over 3,750 publishers, imprints and ebook vendors. We’ve recently added a new Favourites features to searchBOX, so you can build your own personal list of frequently contacted suppliers.

ASPIRE also provides open-access, detailed reviews of publisher and vendor accessibility statements to help with procurement decisions and supporting your students’ needs. You can review the ASPIRElists for platforms and publishers, or read about what publishers and platforms are doing at ASPIREstories.

We hope these free services are useful for you at this time. If you have any questions, please do let me know."

University of Michigan Press

University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term.

Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the UMP EBC until the end of April 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Note they will be free-to-read, not to download, during this time.

Visible Body (See above OVID Visible Body)

Wiley

For the Education Community: As a growing number of schools are being affected by COVID-19, Wiley is aiming to ensure instructors who need to teach remotely have the necessary tools to help their students. Beginning today, instructors without an adopted online learning solution, such as WileyPLUS, Knewton Alta or zyBooks, can receive free access for their students for the remainder of the Spring 2020 term. Instructors teaching at impacted institutions can request access to WileyPLUS or Knewton Alta here (https://secure.wiley.com/COVID19OpenWPAccess); instructors looking for zyBooks access can apply on the Zybooks website  ( For current WileyPLUS and Knewton Alta instructors, Customer Success Specialists are equipped to provide additional support, including extension of due dates, adjusting assignments or increasing the capacity to work remotely.