Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic Studies

The Psychosocial & Psychoanalytic subject guide gives you access to useful library databases and trusted Web resources, relevant for researching many topics in psychoanalysis, analytical psychology and psychosocial studies

Primary Sources

Researchers in psychoanalysis and related fields can make use of a wide range of primary sources, both printed or online, in their research. Some examples of this type of resource include:

  • original books & documents (e.g. the works of Freud, Jung,etc.)
  • archives (see next section)
  • audio-visual: advertising, art works, film, music, photographs (see the Sociology subject guide for AV resources)
  • literary works
  • news reports (see the Sociology subject guide for News resources)
  • official: government publications, legal documents (see the Politics subject guide for UK & other countries, and the Law subject guide
  • personal: autobiographies, diaries
  • qualitative data: interviews & recordings, questionnaires (many sources, including the UK Data Archive)
  • social media

Special Collections & Archives

The Library has a number of interesting special collections in Psychoanalysis and related fields, some of which are of considerable importance. A handful are book collections (e.g. Holt), others are archival (e.g. Balint), and the remainder are a mixture of materials (e.g. Freud).

For more information please see the Library's Special Collections web page and accompanying Blog post

Looking beyond Essex, the Library's Archives web page may help point to further resources, notably the portal to collections nationally - Archives Hub

The Institute of Psychoanalysis has some useful links to UK archival collections, including the Wellcome Institute Library, which is an important repository, including the Melanie Klein papers and collections of other analysts

In the US, the Library of Congress has digitised the Sigmund Freud Collection of over 20 000 items including the personal papers of Freud

Digitised Primary Sources

Whilst printed collections & archives remain important, recent years have seen a massive increase in the number of digitised primary sources. Some of these are freely available from sources like national archives, national libraries & research universities, and others can be purchased through commercial vendors who specialise in this area. It might be worth exploring some of the subject guides, in particular History and Sociology, which list many interesting resources.

A few examples include:

Government Publications

For details of UK government publications please see the Politics subject guide

For details of official publications from the UN and other international agencies see the Law subject guide and the Politics subject guide