Skip to main content

Special Collections

Russell Barton Archive

This single box collection, which came to the Library through the good offices of Dr Diana Gittins and Professor Joan Busfield, concentrates on the work of the prominent psychiatrist Dr Russell Barton, Physician Superintendent at Severalls Hospital, Colchester, 1960-1971. Dr Barton was an important pioneer of deinstitutionalisation and community care for the mentally ill, and this collection encompasses professional writings, pamphlets and brochures, press cuttings, correspondence and notes, as well as reports – particularly relating to Severalls Hospital. As the collection contains materials of a potentially sensitive nature, researchers are required to provide a guarantee of patient confidentiality

Full Listing

Leonore Davidoff Collection

This collection comprises 70 rare and specialist volumes, mainly dating from the 19th century, amassed by the eminent historian and sociologist Leonore Davidoff (1932-2014) in the course of her research into women’s and family lives. Professor Davidoff, who was associated with the University’s Department of Sociology from 1969, was a generous donor to the Library during her lifetime. The books in this significant niche collection – which encompass children’s literature, women’s fiction, polite literature, women’s conduct books, and volumes on domestic manners and morals – were donated to the Library by her family in May 2015. The books are kept together as a unit in Special Collections.

Sigmund Freud Collection *

This collection is on permanent loan to the Library by generous agreement of Mark Paterson Associates and the Freud Beneficiaries. The collection comprises some 2,000 volumes, 4,500 photocopies of letters, 2,500 typescripts of letters and 2,700 original letters (including 39 in the hand of Sigmund Freud).

Glassborow Rail Transport Collection #

Donated to the Library in 1997 by Mr. P.W. Glassborow of Bury St. Edmunds, this collection comprises of some 250 items of "grey literature" relating to rail travel and commuting into London in the 1960s and early 1970s. In addition to published reports, the collection includes typescripts of transport surveys carried out at that time.

Janet Gyford 1963 USA And Mexico Tour Archive

This single box archive was deposited with the Library in 2017 by Janet Gyford (nee Carruthers) of Witham, Essex. It chronicles her 1963 visit to the USA and Mexico under the auspices of the British Universities North America Club. Central to the archive are three lever arch files containing maps, tickets, postcards, leaflets, notebooks, and other ephemera gathered during the trip. The collection also contains a box of photographic slides taken by Mrs Gyford (along with a descriptive list) and a post flight report/journal detailing her experiences of the tour.

Hervey Benham Sound Archive

Comprising approximately 1400 tape cassettes, the Hervey Benham Sound Archive is a rich source for local history research, covering many aspects of Colchester and Essex life. As well as "whole life" interviews there are themed series on topics such as agriculture, the Colchester & East Essex Cooperative Society, and World War II. Transcript summaries exist for some recordings. This growing collection was put on permanent deposit by the Colchester Recalled Oral History Group in 1999.

Lord Hill Of Wivenhoe Papers #

The principal part of this collection consists of ephemeral pamphlets which are of particular interest to the study of labour history and the growth of the Unions. (Lord Hill was a member of the General Council, Trades Union Congress, 1948-65 and Chairman of the T.U.C. in 1961). Most of the pamphlets were obtained by Lord Hill during the course of his working life. There is a large file of newspaper cuttings relating to all periods of Lord Hill's life and activities, together with some of his personal and official correspondence. The collection was presented to the University in 1970 by Lady Hill.

David Lockwood Papers

This collection, which occupies one archival box, was donated to the Library in 2017 by the sons of the late Professor David Lockwood. Born in Yorkshire in 1929, David Lockwood was educated at the LSE and joined the University of Essex in 1968 from the University of Cambridge. His ground-breaking studies of social class, as exemplified by his books, The Blackcoated Worker (1958) and Solidarity and Schism (1992) marked him out as a sociologist of the highest order. In 1976 he was elected to a fellowship of the British Academy and in 1998 was appointed CBE for his contributions to the discipline of sociology. He died in 2014.

More information

Juliet Mitchell Archive *

This collection of papers and allied books relate to the life and work of Professor Juliet Mitchell (born 1940), the prominent New Zealand-born psychoanalyst, socialist feminist and pioneer of gender studies. The collection, which was placed on permanent deposit by Professor Mitchell in 2011.

Royal Statistical Society Collection *#

A substantial portion of the library of the Royal Statistical Society, amounting to about 9,000 volumes, was placed on permanent deposit with the Albert Sloman Library in 2000. It consists of back runs of about 30 periodicals, a large book collection, and an important series of tracts - bound volumes of pamphlets on diverse topics. The core of the collection relates to statistics and statistical history, and contains much material of interest in the field of social and economic history, particularly for the 19th and early 20th centuries. The books, periodicals and some 7,500 pamphlets are all listed in our online catalogue..

National Social Policy And Social Change Archive (NSPSCA) (Qualidata)

The National Social Policy and Social Change Archive, was set up in October 1996 by Qualidata with support from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation and the University of Essex. The collection includes a range of well-know pioneering classic studies from the social sciences including works by Peter Townsend; Ray Pahl; Jan Pahl's study on marital violence; and Annette Lawson's study on adultery.

More information

Archives Of The National Viewers' And Listeners' Association (NVALA) #

The NVALA archives covers the period 1964 to 1991 and consist of 144 boxes of NVALA publications and committee papers, television monitoring reports and surveys, correspondence of Mary Whitehouse with the BBC and IBA, publications of Mary Whitehouse, files relating to specific films and television programmes, newspaper cuttings, and correspondence of the NVALA secretary. A preliminary set of lists has been prepared for consultation in the Library. Access to committee papers and financial reports is restricted but access to correspondence, files on individual films/programmes, press cuttings, etc. is unhindered.

More information

University Of Essex Collection *

In addition to the main University committee papers and minutes, this collection includes foundation papers from the earliest days in July 1959. The archive is supplemented by an extensive collection of early photographs, newspaper cuttings and University calendars and prospectuses from the early 1960s. The collection also includes papers, miscellaneous publications and press cuttings relating to the unrest of 1968 and 1973/74.

More information

UNIVERSITY OF ESSEX COLLECTION PHOTO ARCHIVE
An extensive collection of photographs of the University of Essex from the 1960s onwards. A listing of the physical collection is available here. Digitised versions of the photos can be seen on Flickr and History Pin.